Mutembwa Selected as a 2010 Rhodes Scholar

Indiana University Press Release
Bloomington, Indiana

Dec. 16, 2009

Indiana University field hockey defender Mutsa Mutembwa was notified on Monday, Dec. 14 that she is the fourth IU student-athlete in school history to receive the prestigious Rhodes Scholarship. A native of Zimbabwe, Mutembwa recently concluded her rigorous interview with Oxford in her hometown of Harare and became the 14th Indiana University student to be named a Rhodes Scholar Select.

Mutembwa, a double major in Economics and Mathematics and a senior academically, completed her junior season with the Hoosiers where she helped lead IU to the first round of the NCAA Tournament and to the Big Ten Tournament championship game. She ended her athletic career at Indiana tied as the Hoosiers career defensive saves leader with seven in 53 games, matching IU All-American and Olympian Kayla Bashore (2001-05). She also ranked second in IU's single-season record book with four defensive saves on the season.

"Mutsa is a most deserving choice for this special honor," said IU President Michael McRobbie. "Her academic accomplishments here at Indiana University are every bit as impressive as her extraordinary ability on the playing field. We are all very proud of her."

"Mutsa Mutembwa personifies what Indiana University student-athletes are all about," said IU Vice President and Director of Athletics Fred Glass. "Her commitment to her education is remarkable, her dedication to her sport is commendable, and her interest and concern for the world around her is simply extraordinary. Indiana University is proud to be represented by a young woman like Mutsa Mutembwa, and we congratulate her on this extraordinary achievement."

Mutembwa, the daughter of Amman and Priscilla, will graduate in May and plans to become a financial economist and return to her native country to help solve Zimbabwe's profoundly tragic struggle with hyperinflation.

"Mutsa is an incredible young woman who is going to make a huge impact on this world," said Indiana field hockey head coach Amy Robertson. "I'm so proud of her. She has just brought so many honors to our program, our University and our athletic department. I'm just so thrilled for her and honored to have been her coach and watch her develop from the time she arrived in Bloomington to today."

IU Student-Athlete Rhodes Scholarship Winners

1970 - William Wolfe, Football

1928 - Harlan Logan, Basketball/Track/Tennis

1905 - Frank Aydelotte, Football

IU Rhodes Scholarship Winners

2003 - Kathleen Diem-Anh Tran
2001 - Raju Raval
1994 - Zachary J. Ziliak 

1985 - Joel N. Thomas-Adams 

1983 - Barbara J. Toman 

1970 - William H. Wolfe 

1964 - Stephen Kendall Smith 

1953 - Joseph B. Board, Jr. 

1928 - Harlan Logan 

1925 - Philip Blair Rice 

1919 - Ernest Roscoe Baltzell 

1913 - Richard Harvey Simpson 

1905 - Frank Aydelotte