Merata Kawhara Appointed to NZ Geographic Board

Land Information Minister Maurice Williamson today made two new appointments, and five re-appointments, to the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa.

The Board is responsible for place naming in New Zealand, its offshore islands, the Ross Sea region of Antarctica and undersea features on New Zealand’s continental shelf.

"Auckland University’s Dr Merata Kawharu and Canterbury University Associate Professor Te Maire Tau are new appointments to the NZGB.

"Dr Kawharu is director of Auckland University’s James Henare Māori Research Centre. She has a background in social anthropology and has worked for UNESCO’s World Heritage Centre in Paris.

"Associate Professor Te Maire Tau is a historian and director of the Ngāi Tahu Research Centre at Canterbury University," Mr Williamson says.

Reappointed to the Board are Jenni Vernon, David Barnes, Professor Michael Roche, Matanuku Mahuika, and Rikirangi Gage. The new appointees replace outgoing members Basil Morrison and Sir Tipene O’Regan.

[To read the full post, click here.]